Translation of the Cambodian civil code

A brief history of the Cambodian civil code

dmap2Under the French protectorate from 1863 to 1949, the Cambodian legal system was rebuilt and is anchored in the Roman-Germanic model. The first Cambodian civil code, enacted February 25, 1920, was written by French experts and naturally strongly inspired by the Napoleonic Code dated 1804. Available only in French, the civil code of 1920 was only accessible  to the Cambodian elite and struggled to impose itself to the people of the Kingdom of Cambodia. It took until 1967 for a translation in Khmer of the code (in its first revision). It allowed a real application of the code at all society levels, especially since the prior command of the language, concepts and mechanisms contained in the code had already been acquired by two generations of Cambodian elites. The eighty-six years of protectorate enabled the French to spread its model (this code was in force until the arrival of the Khmer Rouge in 1975).

 

The new procedural civil code and civil code

In an effort to reform the legal and judicial system, the government of the Kingdom of Cambodia has asked the Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) to assist it in the compilation and harmonization of the civil law texts. It should be recalled that the Japanese civil code, itself inspired by the German civil code, is of Romano-Germanic tradition as the French civil code. 

Thus, the new civil procedure code and civil code were respectively promulgated in July 2006 and December 2007. However a provision of the new civil code stated that its implementation would require another legal act; this is why the code only entered into force in December 2011. It took three decades after the Khmer Rouge regime for the Kingdom of Cambodia to have a civil code again.

Civil Code in CambodiaThe new civil code, whose purpose is general and covers all aspects of the civil matter, has indeed not only upset the habits of practitioners but also repealed a number of concepts and replaced them with new ones. More than a compilation of old pieces of legislation, the new civil code was meant to be a genuine reform of the entire Cambodian civil law. The long delay between the promulgation and the entry into force of the new code was justified to allow a continuity and consistency of the Cambodian civil law. Unfortunately, if the stated objective was to adapt the legal system to the economic market reforms while respecting the Cambodian traditions and customs, the need for clarity, accessibility and intelligibility of the law for citizens, necessary for legal certainty, however, have not been met.

The difficulties of translation of the new Cambodian civil code

The unavailability of Cambodian-Japanese Legal Translators, or even French-Khmer at the time of writing the new civil code has brought the Japanese experts to use simple translators (non-jurists) to translate in two steps (from Japanese to English and from English to Khmer) the entire new Cambodian civil code. Thus it has received references from the terminology of the common law (the Anglo-American legal system) – a language that legally speaking only express itself in its own legal system. References to both common law and civil law principles then rendered the access to the new civil code extremely difficult for citizens and practitioners who carry on their activities in a mixed and confusing context. The Khmer translation of the the new civil code originally drafted in Japanese by Japanese experts, was a failure because of the use of English as the vehicle language from Japanese to Khmer.  

 

Which role for the Association Henri Capitant in the translation of new Cambodian civil code?

Although the new civil code is in theory, in effect, the understanding issues of the text remain very real and prevent it from being fully implemented.

This is why, the association Henri Capitant Cambodia wishes to support the efforts in order for it to be better understood and correctly applied. In this way, the methodology chosen by the association Henri Capitant Cambodia is simple and summarizes as follows:

  • Tapping into the vocabulary of the Khmer Civil Code dated 1920 to propose amendments to the text of the new civil code or to annotate it with comments to each provision issues;
  • To achieve this, on the basis of the Franco-Khmer nomenclature dated 1960 when translating the 1920 code, it will then be preceded by the French translation of the entire New civil code; 
  • Allowing a team of French legal experts to work with  Khmer experts legal to find technical paths that will allow to re-enter the text of the fair and correct legal terminologies of the new Cambodian civil code;
  • Establish a team of Cambodian jurists with civil law training for example, former students from the French law branch of the Royal University of Law and Economics (RULE) to organize awareness campaigns, conferences and continuing educational sessions through the country to academics, vocational schools and practitioners. 

For more information, please feel free to contact us.

Images source:  

Map : https://casls.uoregon.edu/mosaic/FR_mosaic/africa/FR_U4A3/dmap2.jpg
Civil Code: http://lawcambodia.blogspot.com/2011/12/civil-laws-civil-code-in-cambodia.html

Traduction du Code civil cambodgien

 Un rapide historique du Code civil cambodgien

dmap2Sous le protectorat français de 1863 à 1949, le système juridique cambodgien s’est reconstruit et s’est ancré dans le modèle romano-germanique. Le premier code civil cambodgien, promulgué le 25 février 1920, fut rédigé par des experts français et naturellement fortement inspiré du code Napoléon de 1804. Disponible uniquement en langue française, le  Code  civil de  1920 n’était accessible qu’à l’élite cambodgienne et peinait à s’imposer auprès du peuple. Il fallut attendre 1967 pour qu’il y ait une traduction du code en langue khmère (lors de sa première révision). Cela permit une véritable application du Code à tous les niveaux de la société, d’autant que la maîtrise préalable de la langue, des concepts et des mécanismes contenus dans le Code avait été déjà préalablement acquise par deux générations d’élites cambodgiennes, les quatre-vingt-six ans de protectorat ayant permis à la France d’y  diffuser  son  modèle (ce Code est resté en vigueur jusqu’à l’arrivée des Khmers Rouges en 1975).

 

Les nouveaux code de procédure civile et Code civil

Dans une volonté de réforme du système juridique et judiciaire, le gouvernement du Royaume du Cambodge a sollicité l’Agence Japonaise de Coopération Internationale (JICA) afin de l’aider dans la compilation et l’harmonisation de ces textes de lois en matière civile. Il convient de rappeler que le Code civil japonais, lui-même inspiré du Code civil allemand, est de tradition  romano-germanique comme le Code civil  français.

Ainsi, les nouveaux code de procédure civile et Code civil sont respectivement promulgués en  juillet  2006 et en décembre 2007,  mais  une  disposition  du nouveau Code civil précisait que sa mise en application nécessiterait une autre loi. Celui-ci n’est finalement entré pleinement en vigueur qu’au mois de décembre 2011. Il aura ainsi fallu attendre trois décennies après les Khmers Rouges pour que le Cambodge ait à nouveau  son Code  civil.

Civil Code in CambodiaLe nouveau Code civil, dont la vocation est  générale et  recouvre tous  les  aspects de  la matière  civile, est, en  effet, venu non  seulement bousculer les habitudes des praticiens ; mais a également abrogé un certain nombre de notions  pour les remplacer  par de  nouvelles. Plus qu’une compilation d’anciens  textes  de  loi,  le nouveau Code  civil se voulait être une véritable réforme de l’ensemble du  droit  civil  cambodgien. Le long délai entre la promulgation et l’entrée en vigueur du nouveau Code était ainsi justifié pour permettre une continuité et une cohérence dans le droit civil cambodgien. Malheureusement, si l’objectif affiché était d’adapter  le  système  juridique  aux  réformes économiques de marché tout en respectant les traditions et les coutumes cambodgiennes, les exigences de clarté, d’accessibilité et d’intelligibilité de la loi pour les citoyens, nécessaires à la sécurité juridique, n’ont pourtant pas été satisfaites.

 

Les difficultés de traduction du nouveau Code civil cambodgien

L’indisponibilité de juristes-traducteurs khméro-japonais, ou même franco-khmers à l’époque de l’écriture du nouveau Code civil a amené les experts japonais à utiliser de simples traducteurs (non juristes) pour traduire en deux temps (du Japonais à l’Anglais, puis de l’Anglais au Khmer) l’ensemble du nouveau Code civil cambodgien. Ce dernier a ainsi reçu des références terminologiques issues de la Common Law (tirés du système juridique  anglo-américain) – une langue ne prenant sens juridiquement que dans le système juridique qui est le sien. Les références à la fois à la Common Law et aux principes  civilistes ont  alors rendu l’accès au nouveau code civil extrêmement difficile aussi bien pour les citoyens que pour les praticiens qui se retrouvent à exercer dans un contexte mixte et peu clair. La traduction en khmer du texte du nouveau Code civil initialement préparé et rédigé en japonais par des experts nippons, a été un échec à cause de l’utilisation de l’anglais comme langue véhicule du japonais vers le khmer.

 

Quel rôle pour l’Association Henri Capitant dans la traduction du nouveau Code civil cambodgien ?

Bien que le nouveau Code civil soit, en théorie, en vigueur, les problèmes de compréhension de son texte demeurent en effet bien réels et empêchent celui-ci d’être pleinement appliqué.

C’est la raison pour laquelle, l’Association  Henri  Capitant  Cambodge  souhaite  soutenir  les  efforts entrepris pour que celui-ci soit mieux compris et correctement appliqué. En ce sens, la méthodologie choisie par l’Association Henri Capitant Cambodge est simple et se présente sommairement de la manière suivante :

  • Puiser dans le vocabulaire du texte khmer du Code civil de 1920 pour proposer des amendements au texte du nouveau Code civil ou pour l’annoter par des commentaires à chaque disposition problématique ;
  • Pour y  parvenir,  sur la  base de  la nomenclature  franco-khmère  des  années  1960  lors  de la traduction du code de 1920, il sera alors procédé à la traduction en français de l’ensemble du nouveau Code civil ;
  • Permettre à une équipe d’experts juridiques français de travailler avec des experts juridiques khmers pour retrouver les cheminements techniques qui permettront de réinsérer dans  le texte  du nouveau  Code  civil  les  terminologies  juridiques cambodgiennes justes et correctes ;
  • Mettre en  place  une  équipe  de  juristes  cambodgiens  de formation  civiliste – par exemple les anciens  étudiants  de  la  filière francophone de droit de l’Université Royale de Droit et des Sciences Economiques (URDSE) pour animer des sessions de sensibilisation, des conférences et des sessions de formations continues dans le pays et à l’adresse des universitaires, des écoles professionnelles et des praticiens.

 

Pour plus d’informations, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter.

Crédit : Julia Berkowicz

Source images:  

Carte: https://casls.uoregon.edu/mosaic/FR_mosaic/africa/FR_U4A3/dmap2.jpg
Code Civil: http://lawcambodia.blogspot.com/2011/12/civil-laws-civil-code-in-cambodia.html